I Remember, by Dimitris Charles

I remember being awesome, which was all the time.

I remember living in Maryland with a park across the street, and the girl next door.

I remember leaving Baltimore and missing that girl next door.

I remember having a crush in middle school, and asking, “If you like me, check yes or no.” She said no.

I remember running in the rain to clear my head, and the bad thoughts of some girl I dated.

I remember trying to love and failing because it wasn’t love, just premature lust.

I remember the rejection but not the face. Just the voice.

I remember running in the rain again to clear the rejection, and it didn’t work.

I remember sleeping for two hours a night and thinking I had insomnia.

I remember the good moments, but I don’t embrace them.

I remember crying when I was alone in my room watching a sad movie.

I remember yesterday, and a little of today.

I remember waking up, showering, eating, getting dressed, and praying before leaving the house every morning for the last four years.

Leave a Reply

