I Remember, by Maire Mendoza

I remember thinking, “Why is the moon following me?”

I remember my mom chasing me so I could take a shower.

I remember closing my ears every time someone talked about 2012.

I remember seeing my grandmother like a giant.

I remember seeing the stars coming in the United States from Mexico.

I remember throwing a rock at my mom and don’t remember what happened next.

I remember waking up at 5 a.m., taking the bus to I don’t know where.

I remember the way my mom got when she found out someone was going to visit her, and the house was a mess.

I remember giving a kiss to my big sister the first time I saw her.

I remember crying for not knowing where I was.

I remember thinking how awesome the stars were for being so small and yet so big.

I remember waking up at 12 a.m. every Friday for pizza.

I remember I peed on my second grade teacher’s rug for not letting me use the bathroom.

I remember being in a pool thinking I was the best swimmer.

Leave a Reply

